The Unbridled Power of the Word


Hebrew Bible

As a pastor, I spend a lot of time each week studying the Scriptures for for the teaching and preaching I do. But I’m also a consummate student of the Bible. If somebody dropped a large wad of cash in my lap and I had my choice of PhD programs, I wouldn’t hesitate to pursue biblical studies. I love the discipline of studying the ancient languages that formed Bible’s original texts, while learning the historical, political, religious, and cultural backgrounds that shaped their composition. Drawing on all these skills along with my undergraduate background of literary analysis, it’s a thrill to unpack and explain the Bible’s meaning and its timely intersection with everyday life in the here and now.

However, there’s an inherent danger in my work. Dr. Craig Hill, my New Testament and Greek professor at Wesley Theological Seminary, pointed it out. He warned us that even in all our attempts to critique and examine the Bible, as Christians we must allow the Bible’s rightful place to examine and critique us. I understand his warning  to mean that we must develop a “second naivete” towards the Bible, free from critical and analytical thinking, that allows the Word of God to speak for itself, forming us into the image of Jesus.

This happened to me on Saturday as I was putting the finishing touches on Sunday’s message. As usual, I formed my sermon around a few passages of Scripture. In this case, one of them happened to be Ephesians 3:14-21, which reads:

…I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. (NIV)

If you’ve ever read through the book of Ephesians, then you know how magnificently it reads. The author, in his attempt to describe the heavenly reality he sees, spills out his words to overflowing in long, breathtaking, ornate phrases. For him, our experience of Jesus Christ is so astounding that the words can’t flow fast enough from his mind to the page. From beginning to end, the whole book of Ephesians reads this way.

Now, I’ve just given you my brief analytical synopsis of the book of Ephesians’ style and tone. I was prepared to share something like this on Sunday morning. Yet as I was reading the above passage one more time in preparation, suddenly those thundering words showed themselves for what they really are: the unbridled, eternal, earth-shaking Word of God. No longer would this passage sit passively to be analyzed, parsed, and explained. The Word burst the bonds of my feeble thinking to resonate with a tremendous, holy power. I began to see a truth, which if heard and believed, could completely revolutionize my life and the life of my congregation.

I saw a Word which spoke of being strengthened by the Holy Spirit’s power. Then I remembered this same power raised Jesus from the dead (Ephesians 1:18-20). And not only is the power of the Holy Spirit in us, but the risen Christ dwells in us as well. This power gives us the strength to comprehend the vast, multidimensional, infinite love of God. God’s love is greater than any human knowledge to be had. I could Google anything I wanted for an eternity and come to know all things, but God’s love would far surpass any of it. Knowing this love fills us with everything that is of God. Wow! Did you hear that? The God who formed the universe fills us completely as we grasp the powerful presence of his love. This same love can accomplish anything beyond the outer limits of our wildest imaginations… Everything of this great love and power culminates in the glorification of God, for all time and in all people.

Whew… When I let go and allow myself to be raptured into the sweep of this Word, life is no longer the same. And what’s amazing still: this is just one small passage of Scripture. Could you fathom what would happen to us if we stopped to listen long enough to the rest of the Bible, to every word of it? We would be unrecognizable!

Oh Lord, give us eyes to see and ears to hear. Humble us to the unbridled power of your Word that would blow through us, crush us, form us, and set us ablaze with your Holy Spirit. Make it so in my own life, God. Please do it… Amen.

7 Comments

Filed under Christian thought

7 responses to “The Unbridled Power of the Word

  1. Alvin Dickerson

    Now THAT’S preaching, Chris: allowing yourself to be swept up into God’s Word, and attempting to draw your listeners into it. Good stuff, man; gooood stuff.

    • pastorchrisowens

      Thank you, Alvin… One skill I’m learning is how to get both myself and my congregation swept up into the Word. But I know it starts with me, and Saturday night’s lesson was a much needed step in the right direction.

  2. philayers

    Powerful words! I agree with you that we sometimes get in the way of the Spirit’s movement in our lives. One thought, perhaps we would be more recognizable if we read scripture in this manner. Might it be that this type of revelatory reading would reveal who we truly are meant to be in this world? I’m loving the Wesley Study Bible for devotions. Wesley would be very proud of your revelation.

    • pastorchrisowens

      Thank you, Phil, and I like your understanding of recognizability, that we would be more recognizable as belonging to Jesus. I’ll have to check out the Wesley Study Bible, too. Admittedly, I haven’t gotten my copy yet!

  3. John Roquemore

    Two edged…Sword. He is our Living Water. Our bread of life.

  4. John Roquemore

    But if we have not love…it is nothing. You could give your body to be burned, but if you have not love, you gain nothing.
    Love is pacient, Love is kind, Love is not boastful, Love is not proud, Love is not rude, Love keeps no record of wrongs. Love hopes all things, Love endures all things, and Love never fails.

    “What is Love?” is not the primary question.
    “Who is Love?” is the primary question.

    To know Love.
    Just like Mr. Chris Owens was quoting in

    Ephesians 3:14-21, “…And I pray that you being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide, and long, and high, and deep is the love of Christ and to know this love which surpasses knowledge. That you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God

    Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen” (NIV).

    To know Him!

Leave a Reply

