An Ancient Thanksgiving


On this Thanksgiving, I’m not going to get preachy and admonish you about giving thanks to God. (Who wants to have someone wagging a holier-than-thou finger in their face, anyway?) So instead, I want to share an ancient thanksgiving, one that predated our American holiday by at least 2,300 years, give or take a few centuries. And it’s a very Jewish thanksgiving, too. Enjoy, and know that I’m thankful to God for all of you, for your thoughtful contributions to my own growth and learning on this blog.

Psalm 100

A psalm. For giving grateful praise.

Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.
Worship the LORD with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the LORD is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

If I could remember to be this thankful in my worship of God, I don’t think I could imagine the joy and peace I’d inherit.

From my family and me to you and yours, Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments

Filed under Musings

3 responses to “An Ancient Thanksgiving

  1. This psalm is a very beautiful and passionate piece.

    • I very much agree! I’ve always loved the Psalms and knew how valuable they are to a life of faith in every season. But in this last year, I’ve come to love them so much more– their gritty power, honesty, eloquence, glory, and yet amazingly earthy qualities, too. What a treasure the Psalms are, to me at least.

  2. Willidine Mellas

    One of many beautiful Psalms. May you all have a wonderfully blessed day tomorrow. The more I think of the events this past year the happier I am, and the more I can not wait until Friday when my family and I actually get to celebrate together so I can say the many things I am so thankful for right now to one and all around me. I was blind but now I see sings the praise of one of my favorite hymns (Amazing Grace). I know the true meaning of those words now. And I pray to the dear Lord above I never forget again. Much love to you, Blairlee, and the kids have a blessed and Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

