On Becoming a Kidney Donor


Just in case you haven’t yet heard, on next Wednesday January 26, I have been given the extraordinary opportunity to donate my left kidney to a woman from my church named Ann. Towards the beginning of last year Ann shared with our church that she was suffering kidney failure and would need a kidney transplant. Since then Ann has gone through multiple tests and fistula surgeries to prepare for dialysis treatments, hoping, as anyone in her situation does, for a transplant.

Before I get into explaining how and why I made the decision to become a kidney donor for Ann, I want to admit that talking about this has proved to be very difficult for me. On the one hand, whenever I do share about the donation process, I am thankful for the support and prayers most everyone has offered for Ann and me. But on the other hand, I get quickly embarrassed by the attention and adulation I’ve received from folks who just want to share their appreciation. That in a nutshell is why I get leery about telling folks that I’m donating a kidney.

As to the question of why I’m doing something like this, it’s simple: I’m donating my kidney to help Ann, and that’s it. My one satisfaction comes from knowing I have the chance to help a friend and sister in Christ. Keeping me from any other lesser motives is Jesus’ admonition that says, “But when you give…, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you” (Matthew 6:3-4). Again, the reward for me comes from the act of giving. So why should I broadcast it and risk further discomfort of the limelight?

I’m sharing my reasoning and decision making for one big reason: that you can understand what goes into a decision like this and discover how viable an option it may be for you or someone you know to be a live organ donor. If my sharing would encourage someone else to donate an organ and give the gift of life to someone else, that more than doubles the satisfaction for me.

Up until learning about Ann’s predicament, I had never before even remotely considered being a living organ donor. But shortly after Ann made her announcement that she would need a kidney transplant, she shared with me that one of her biggest fears is that her blood type is O+ and that there aren’t too many other O+ folks out there, let alone those who would donate a kidney. I thought to myself, “Yeah, I know what you mean. I’m O+, too. We can give to anyone, but only receive from someone of the same type.”

Then an unusual thought came to my mind, “Wait, I am O+. I wonder what’s involved in this whole donation thing.” So, I went to the University of Maryland’s kidney donation site, and looked into it. I learned that donating a kidney is a worthwhile option that is far less evasive and risky for the donor than in used to be. People can live perfectly fine with just one kidney, and the surgery, performed almost entirely laparoscopically, is followed by a short recovery time—just a few weeks!

Then I got to thinking about two people I had gotten to know in the last several years whose lives were saved by receiving an organ donation. One was a former landlord who received a heart transplant. The second was a man from my church who received a living liver donation from his son. In both cases, I saw how difficult it was to find a donor but also how receiving a needed organ saved their lives while returning them to a good quality of life.

When I saw Ann again on a Sunday morning, I asked her if there was a form or application someone would fill out to be a donor. She assured me there was, and when I came into my office the next morning, there was a large brown envelope with an application inside of it sitting right on my desk. So, I looked through it, went home that afternoon and asked Blairlee what she thought, and to my surprise, after looking into it, she was highly supportive.

Then I began the testing process. An initial cross-match test found Ann and me to be an acceptable match. A few months after that I began more intensive testing which included a whole battery of blood tests, a glucose tolerance test, and a urine test to determine my baseline health. Kidney donors need to be in very good condition. At every point in the donation evaluation process, the health and safety of the donor is the primary factor. Nothing would be done to jeopardize the short-term or long-term health of the donor, which has been a great comfort to me. Along those lines, the surgeons made clear to me that I needed to drop some weight, a minimum of 10 lbs. but ideally close to 50 lbs. Thankfully, over these past five months, I’ve almost met the 50 lb. goal and intend to keep losing weight and keep it off in order to take good care of my health and my remaining kidney.

The final part of the donation evaluation was a full day of testing and interviews. Over the course of the day, I was given some education on the donation process, the donor and recipient surgery and the recovery. That was followed by more blood tests, a chest x-ray, a CT scan of my kidneys and surrounding anatomy, a psycho-social evaluation with a social worker, an appointment with my donor surgeon, and a full physical including an EKG. Ann’s husband Dave later quipped that at the very least I got one heck of a physical out of the whole deal!

A few weeks later, a multidisciplinary team looked at all the test results from Ann and me, determined that we were good to go, and set a surgery date. Right now, I can’t wait for us to get to January 26th and have the surgery. For both Ann and me, that will become a hallmark day in both of our lives.

I want to say again how incredibly touched and grateful I feel for the outpouring of love, support, and prayers many of you have offered Ann and me as we prepare for the donation surgery. That has taken what has been a deeply moving process and made it all the more beautiful. Every step along the way, Ann, our families, and I have seen, heard, and felt the presence and leading of God. In recent weeks, we have experienced God in the love so many of you have given us.

Even as strenuous and at times overwhelming the donation process has been, it’s all worth it for nothing else but two reasons: the hope of Ann returning to health with a functioning kidney and to hear others say, “If you can do something like donate a kidney, I could consider doing something like that, too.” That truly makes my joy complete!

21 Comments

Filed under Reflections

21 responses to “On Becoming a Kidney Donor

  1. Willidine Mellas

    I pray God keep you both well and healthy through the process. And that Ann’s body excepts your kidney as her own. This I know is not easy for either of you and God bless you for being the kind loving friend you are. As far as the attention goes, take it with loving open arms my friend you deserve it. There are not many people who will stand up and give their organs much less anything else so freely. Your doing this for friend shows the wonderful child of Christ you are. God speed on both your recoveries. Our thoughts and prayers are with you both.

  2. Julia Carrell

    Truly inspiring to do that for a Christian friend in need. Thanks to BlairLee for her confirming that it is possible. I have a brother-in law that went through a lung transplant two yrs. ago, and he may possibly need another one in the future so we know the battles one has to go through for rejection, etc. I thank God for you today and pray for your healing to take place quickly afterward. Thanks for sharing. Julie from Asbury UMC in Arnold, MD

  3. Sophie Lagacé

    It’s always an amazing tale to hear about live donors, and particularly when they are not family members of the person in need of a transplant. My most sincere hopes and wishes for a successful transplant for Ann, a prompt recovery for both of you, and continued health for yourself.

  4. Ros Saddington

    Good luck to you and Ann for your op tomorrow. I’ll ask the big guy to keep an eye on the proceedings.

    Best wishes and God Bless
    Ros

  5. Bandara

    HI All,
    I’m O+ 40yrs old male. I really like to help some one from Kidney Donation. As a life gift. Contact me on bandara-ashoka@hotmail.com
    God bless,
    Bandara

    • Hello Bandara- Bless you for sharing your need. I often think of you and thousands others who are on waiting lists for a much-needed organ. That’s why I continue to encourage more of us to be donors. If you haven’t already, contact http://www.unos.org, The United Network for Organ Sharing. You will be in my prayers, Bandara…

  6. Pingback: Lessons Learned While Staying Home from Church | Pastor Chris Owens – - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  7. Pingback: The Donor Who Became a Recipient | Pastor Chris Owens – - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  8. bandara

    Dear Chris,
    No body contact me. (pls contact me on live.com ID insted of hotmail)
    I like to donate FREE O+ kidney for needed person. I’m 40years old male. Only thing reciver must take care of related all costs for medical,travaling if need and most important is Transplant at good hospitol with out medical risk or after effect. Becouse being a free donor, I don’t like two things 1) Doing the transplant in unsafe place and taking health risk. 2) I should not lose money with my Free gifted Kidney. Hope fair enough. So if you think you are the right person to me to gift revert back to
    bandara-ashoka@live.com

  9. Pingback: Christians and Homosexuality: A Personal Take | Pastor Chris Owens – - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  10. rasel rana

    I am a healthy 26 year old male. Non-smoker, non drinker, healthy lifestyle. No history of disease. 0+ blood group. i need lot of money (Net US$ 80,000 ~ US$ 1,00,000). All are cost yours. Would like to donate my kidney. If interested, contact me at rasel_rana80@yahoo.com from bangladesh.
    I am not joke, serious. I need original buyer.

  11. Pingback: Becoming a Kidney Donor- One Year Later | Pastor Chris Owens – - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  12. Pingback: A Kidney Donor Delivers a Setback to Live Organ Donation | Pastor Chris Owens – - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  13. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have
    truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  14. Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  15. Superb post however I was wanting to know if you could write
    a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Cheers!

  16. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would genuinely benefit from
    a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thanks!

  17. Pingback: Robin, You Are Never Alone | Pastor Chris Owens - - Musings, Rants, and Reflections

  18. It’s actually very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, therefore I
    just use web for that purpose, and obtain the hottest news.

  19. Definitely believe that that you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be
    on the internet the simplest thing to take note of.

    I say to you, I definitely get irked even as people consider concerns
    that they plainly don’t understand about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the top and also defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects
    , other people could take a signal. Will probably
    be again to get more. Thanks

  20. Virtually all of whatever you mention happens to be astonishingly accurate and it makes me wonder why I had not looked at this with this light before. This article truly did turn the light on for me personally as far as this subject matter goes. Nonetheless there is actually one particular point I am not necessarily too comfy with and whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the core theme of the position, let me observe exactly what the rest of the visitors have to point out.Very well done.

Leave a Reply

